Vendors at Singsandhra

Vendor at Singsandhra

 

IMG_20150508_122122045                       IMG_20150508_121905257
 

Fig:1 .This vendor stall is at the Singsandhra. A lady is the owner of this stall. I used to take fruits from her stall because she sells litter cheaper fruits than any other vendors, and she is talkative also so I found myself little easier to communicate with her, although language issue always occurred among us but somehow we both try to manage. She is more comfortable in speaking “Telgu” and “Kannada” and for me both are unfamiliar language.  Because I used visit at her stall at least a day in a week, so I found that it will be easy for her also to share her experience freely without any hesitation about  their work, that place from her point of view, from where does she belong, about her life and other so many things. One day I went to this place at the evening time and it was raining. So unfortunately I stand near by her stall for an hour and it was a very good time to talk with her. After taking a bowl of pineapple I offered her too so she can connect with me. Initially I asked her about fruits where she bought all this, on what rate and variety of Banana. She shared all the details about this. She shared that in Bangalore banana comes from Andhra Pradesh, Mysore and from other parts of Karnataka.

After while she shared that she is from Andhra Pradesh, her family migrated from their place several years back in search of better livelihood option. When I asked her do you think that now you and your family have better livelihood option? She said not exactly but the only thing which differ is at least here we all are engage with some work so we are earning some amount but there my father hadn’t any such kind of option. She is married and she has one child also. Her child goes to the govt. school which is very close to her stall. Later she told me that in that place every vendors, whoever stall is there are migrated family or individual and mostly belongs different district of Tamilnadu.

There are lot of other vendors in that area. In some stalls one can find chicken soup, some sells Pakoda, some are vegetable seller, some are only banana seller. And they all migrated from somewhere mostly from Andhra Pradesh.

Shalini

MAD14167

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment